Cranford Leaving the Scene of an Accident Ticket
If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident under NJS 39:4-129, it is important that you contact an experienced and knowledgeable defense attorney. At LS&P Lawyers, located in Cranford, New Jersey, we have represented many clients who have been charged with this offense.
In New Jersey, when a person is involved in an accident it is their obligation to remain on the scene. Leaving the scene can incur very serious consequences. If a person leaves the scene of an accident where there was property damage, they can be subject to a fine of $202-402 and up to 30 days in jail. In addition, Motor Vehicle points will be assessed as well as the suspension of your driving privileges. Leaving the scene of an accident where there is property damage will also incur collateral consequences with your automobile insurance.
The consequences of leaving the scene of an accident where personal injury is involved are much more severe than the penalties involving only property damage. If you are charged with NJS 39:4-129 involving personal injury you face a fine of $502-1,002 and/or a 180 day jail sentence. In addition, your privileges to drive in New Jersey will be suspended for an entire year. It should also be noted that if the accident occurred in a construction zone, or a 65 mph speed zone the fines will be doubled. There will also be ramifications with the Division of Motor Vehicles as well as your automobile insurance. It is not considered a defense that you were unaware of the personal injury involved.
This offense can also rise to the level of a third degree crime. Under 2C:12-1.1, a motor vehicle operator who knows they are involved in an accident and leaves the scene under circumstances that violate NJS 39:4-129 shall be guilty of a crime of the third degree if the accident resulted in serious bodily harm to another person. Again, it is not a defense to say that you were not aware of the other person’s injuries. If you are convicted of this offense, you may be sentenced to a 3-5 years in prison. There is also a presumption of incarceration of 4 years. This means that it is up to the defendant to show why he should be sentenced to less than 4 years in prison. A fine of $150,000 will also be assessed.
As you can see, while leaving the scene might seem like a minor traffic offense it is most definitely a crime that requires a skilled and knowledgeable defense attorney. At LS&P Lawyers we have experience with leaving the scene of an accident and will do everything we can to vigorously defend you against these serious charges. In some cases, the municipal prosecutor might be willing to downgrade the charges. In situations where a defendant falls into the category of leaving the scene with only property damage we might attempt to negotiate a downgrade to a less serious charge. If you are facing a charge of leaving the scene in any circumstance, we at LS&P Lawyers are here to help. You can call our offices at (908) 709-0500 any time to set up a free consultation.