Abandoning a Motor Vehicle
Were you issued a ticket for abandoning a motor vehicle in New Jersey? Although it is only a traffic offense it can have costly and disruptive consequences. For a first offense, the penalties will be a fine ranging from $100 to $500 and can also result in a 2-year license suspension. For a second or any subsequent conviction the fine increases to a minimum of $500 and a maximum of $1,000. Even more devastating is the potential for a 5-year license suspension. Let one of experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorneys help you. We may be able to beat the case or negotiate a more favorable outcome. Call us at (908) 451-2667 and discuss your possible defense.
New Jersey Abandoning a Motor Vehicle Offense Explained
It is unlawful to abandon a motor vehicle in New Jersey. The statute N.J.S.A. 39:4-56.5 applies to abandonment on both private property and public roads and highways.
Since it may be difficult to establish exactly when a motor vehicle has been abandoned the law makes two presumptions. First, it is presumed that if a motor vehicle remained on or along any public road or private property without the owner’s consent, for more than 48 hours it has been abandoned. The second presumption is that any motor vehicle left for any period of time without current license plates has been abandoned.
We are Available for a Free Consultation
Contact us at LS&P Lawyers to discuss possible defenses you may have. Maybe you did have permission to leave the vehicle on the property or maybe the police had the timing wrong and it was parked there less than 48 hours. Come in for a free consultation today! Our experienced attorneys are ready to meet with you!