Reckless Driving

Reckless Driving Defense Attorneys (N.J.S.A. 39:4-96)

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving is a major traffic offense and New Jersey courts do not take it lightly. Even though it is considered a motor vehicle offense the consequences resulting from a conviction are akin to those of a criminal offense. If convicted you could face fines, fees, license suspension and in some instances possible jail time. A reckless driving conviction will result in 5 points being added to your driver’s license. Often a reckless driving ticket will be given in conjunction with other tickets, possibly exposing you to additional points and fines.

It is important to avoid points on your license. Why?

First, your insurance premium will certainly be increased. Second, if you accumulate points you will have to pay a motor vehicle surcharge. Third, and perhaps most significantly, if you accumulate enough points your license can be suspended or revoked.

A reckless driving conviction is not only inconvenient but it will have a significant financial impact on your life. The best way to avoid this hardship is to have a skilled attorney on your side. At LS&P Lawyers our attorneys have years of experience defending reckless driving offenses in the municipal courts throughout New Jersey.

Speak with an experienced reckless driving defense attorney in Union County, New Jersey

In New Jersey, a person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving.

The reckless driving statute is similar to the careless driving statute. However, the penalties are more severe. The key distinction between the two offenses revolves around the fact that if you were carelessly driving you were “unintentionally” doing so. On the other hand if you were recklessly driving then you were “intentionally” driving in a manner likely to endanger a person or property. This is an important distinction because in order to be found guilty of reckless driving the prosecutor must prove that you were intentionally doing so. In other words, that you were driving recklessly on purpose. It is imperative to have an experienced attorney to challenge this on your behalf. At LS&P Lawyers our experience and skills has allowed us to successfully capitalize on this point and challenge the state’s ability to prove intent, often resulting in a downgrade or dismissal for our clients.

The penalties for a reckless driving conviction are as follows:

1st Offense -

  • 5 New Jersey Motor Vehicle points on your license.
  • Up to 60 days in jail.
  • Up to a $200 fine.
  • Possible driver’s license suspension.

2nd Offense -

  • 5 New Jersey Motor Vehicle points on your license.
  • Up to 90 days in jail.
  • Up to a $500 fine.
  • Possible driver’s license suspension.

If you were issued a reckless driving ticket it is urgent that you speak with a qualified attorney immediately. At LS&P Lawyers we have extensive experience handling reckless driving offenses in New Jersey municipal courts. Contact us for a free consultation and we will begin working on your defense. Just because you were issued a ticket does not mean you are guilty. Our experienced attorneys will work diligently to get your ticket dismissed or downgraded to a no-point violation. Call us today!