Grading of Theft Offenses

First Degree: 10 to 20 years in Prison, maximum $200,000 fine

  • Human remains are stolen by falsification of a document which allows a deceased person to donate his body parts.

Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison, maximum $100,000 fine

  • Amount stolen is greater than $75,000
  • Property is taken by extortion
  • Property stolen is a controlled substance in excess of one kilogram
  • Property stolen is part of a person's health benefits and amounts to over $75,000
  • Human remains or any body part is stolen

Third Degree: 3 to 5 years in prison, maximum $15,000 fine

  • Amount stolen lies between $500 and $75,000
  • If property stolen is a firearm, motor vehicle, vessel, boat, horse, pet, or airplane
  • Property stolen is a controlled substance valued at less than $75,000 and less than one kilogram
  • Property stolen is from the victim's person
  • Money stolen by a person legally responsible for the care of the victim's money
  • Item stolen by threat not characterized by extortion
  • Stealing of a public record
  • Property stolen is part of a person's health benefits which is less than $75,000
  • Property stolen is a product derived from or for research regardless of value
  • Property stolen is a New Jersey Prescription Blank
  • Property stolen is an access device or defaced access device
  • Property stolen is made up of anhydrous ammonia intended for the creation of methamphetamine

Fourth Degree: Up to 18 months in prison, maximum $10,000 fine

  • Amount stolen lies between $200 and $500

Disorderly Persons: Up to 6 months in prison, maximum $1,000

  • Amount stolen is less than $200
  • Property stolen is an electronic vehicle identification system transponder

If you are facing theft charges, please contact an aggressive New Jersey criminal defense lawyer at LS&P Lawyers immediately to ensure that your legal rights are defended.