Hoboken DWI Lawyers (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50)

If you have been arrested for DWI in Hoboken, New Jersey or any other municipality in Hudson County, chances are you have been browsing the internet and have been provided with a variety of unclear information. Come meet with us for a free consultation and we guarantee that after speaking with us you will feel more confident moving forward in choosing the right DWI attorney for you.

New Jersey DWI laws are unforgiving and rigid, even for the first offense. If convicted of DWI, you will face a mountain of fines and fees. Even more importantly, you could face a loss of your driver’s license in New Jersey for up to one year or more and the possibility of jail time in some circumstances. It is clear that the impact of a conviction is substantial.

At LS&P Lawyers, our defense attorneys have over three decades of experience representing clients accused of DWI. Our team includes a former prosecutor and an adept DWI defense attorney certified in the Alcotest and Standard Field Sobriety Tests used by police in drunk driving arrests. Each and every client is a priority and we invest all of our energy and resources into developing a strong defense on their behalf. If you have been arrested for DWI, contact us today. We will arrange a free initial consultation. Our qualifications and personal, straight-forward approach sets us apart from other DWI attorneys throughout New Jersey

The following is a list of the penalties for the various first offense DWIs in New Jersey:

If you are convicted as a result of an Alcotest reading of .08 up to .09 you will be facing:

  • A 3-month loss of license;
  • Up to 30 days in jail;
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center) Program;
  • Possible suspension of your registration;
  • $3,000 Motor Vehicle Surcharge ($1,000 each year for 3 years);
  • Insurance surcharges
  • Fines and penalties ranging from $250-$00;
  • Possible installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (this is in the judge’s discretion for a first offense).

If you are convicted as a result of an Alcotest reading of .10 or above you will be facing:

  • 7 months – 1 year loss of license;
  • Up to 30 days in jail;
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC Program;
  • Possible suspension of your registration;
  • $3,000 Motor Vehicle Surcharge ($1,000 each year for 3 years);
  • Insurance surcharges
  • Fines and penalties ranging from $300-$500;
  • Possible installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (this is in the judge’s discretion for a first offense).

If you were charged with DWI in a School Zone (whether you were aware that you were in a school zone is irrelevant) you will face additional heightened penalties as follows:

  • 1-2 year loss of license;
  • Up to 60 days in jail;
  • Fines and penalties ranging from $500-$800.

If you found yourself facing a DWI charge after a night of bar hopping on Washington Street in Hoboken, please contact us immediately. DWI is a complicated, convoluted and technical situation. Not all attorneys are able to sufficiently address the problems with the Alcotest and field sobriety procedures. Our unique qualifications allow us to immediately identify flaws and mistakes in the police procedure. We are committed to achieving the best possible outcome for each of our clients. Let us help you fight your DWI charge! We are available 24/7 to answer your call.