Weehawken DWI Attorneys (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50)

Did a fun carefree night out on the waterfront in Weehawken, New Jersey turn into a serious situation in which you are being accused of driving while intoxicated? If you find yourself or a loved one in this situation contact our office to arrange a free initial consultation. New Jersey DWI laws are strict, complicated and unforgiving. Retaining a competent and experienced DWI attorney to represent you in court is extremely important. There is no plea bargaining in a DWI case in New Jersey and if you go to trial and are convicted you will face a mandatory loss of license. The judge has no discretion to avoid this sentence. An aggressive DWI attorney can challenge the state’s case and present a strong defense on your behalf.

At LS&P Lawyers, our team of defense attorneys has unique qualifications that distinguish us from other DWI attorneys throughout the state. Our team includes a former prosecutor and an accomplished DWI attorney who is certified in the proper maintenance and operation of the Alcotest machine as well as the Standard Field Sobriety Tests administered by police during drunk driving arrests. There are only a handful of attorneys with these certifications in New Jersey.

For your convenience a list of the potential penalties for a DWI conviction are below.

If you are convicted as a result of an Alcotest reading of .08 up to .09 you will be facing:

  • A 3-month loss of license;
  • Up to 30 days in jail;
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center) Program;
  • Possible suspension of your registration;
  • $3,000 Motor Vehicle Surcharge ($1,000 each year for 3 years);
  • Insurance surcharges
  • Fines and penalties ranging from $250-$400;
  • Possible installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (this is in the judge’s discretion for a first offense).

If you are convicted as a result of an Alcotest reading of .10 or above you will be facing:

  • 7 months – 1 year loss of license;
  • Up to 30 days in jail;
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC Program;
  • Possible suspension of your registration;
  • $3,000 Motor Vehicle Surcharge ($1,000 each year for 3 years);
  • Insurance surcharges
  • Fines and penalties ranging from $300-$500;
  • Possible installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (this is in the judge’s discretion for a first offense).

If you were charged with DWI in a School Zone (whether you were aware that you were in a school zone is irrelevant) you will face additional heightened penalties as follows even for first offense:

  • 1-2 year loss of license;
  • Up to 60 days in jail;
  • Fines and penalties ranging from $500-$800.

If you were arrested for DWI in Weehawken, New Jersey your case will be handled in Weehawken Municipal Court. Our attorneys have appeared here on numerous occasions. Don’t let a DWI conviction ruin your life. At LS&P Lawyers we are here to help. Let us put our knowledge, professionalism and experience to work for you! Call us to speak with an attorney anytime day or night.